Former Board Members

1985 — Most Recent

Jorge Daboub, B.C.B.A. 

Vice President of Marketing & Business Development
Univision Television Group

David Pérez, M.B.A. 

Managing Director 
Palladium Equity Partners

Derek Yach, M.B.Ch.B., D.S.C, M.P.H.
Director of Global Health Policy

Frederick Naftolin, M.D., Phil. D.
Director of Biology Research
School of Medicine, New York University

Michael A. Boorstein, M.B.A., 2006 - 2010
Director of Administration
Pan American Health Organization

Luis Jáuregui, M.D. 2002 - 2008
Chief of Infectious Diseases
St. Vincent Mercy Medical Center

Dr. Malden Nesheim, 1996 - 2002, 2003 - 2008
Provost Emeritus
Cornell University

Reynaldo Martorell, Ph.D. 1990 - 1996, 2002 - 2008
Chair, Department of Global Health
Rollins School of Public Health, Emory University

Richard Van West-Charles, M.D., M.P.H. Ex-officio member, 2006 - 2008
Area Manager, Information and Knowledge Management
Pan American Health Organization (PAHO)

Jesse Aguirre, 2005 - 2006

Gustavo Arenas, 2001 - 2006
Corporate V.P and G.M. of Pan-Americas Region
Advanced Micro Devices

Elisa Arevalo, 2003 - 2006
Vice President & Senior Program Manager,
Small Business Marketing Communications
Wells Fargo Bank

Dianne Arnold, Ex-officio member, 2005 - 2006
Area Manager, Human Resources Management

Carissa Etienne, M.D., Ex-officio member, 2000 - 2006
Assistant Director

Alberto de León-Laurenza, M.D., 2000 - 2006
Former Medical Director
Saint Mary Medical Center Obstetrical Clinic and Antenatal Center

Enrique Figueroa, Ph.D., 2000 - 2006
Director, Roberto Hernandez Center University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee

Joxel Garcia, M.D., Ex-officio member, 2003 - 2006
Deputy Director, PAHO

Adel Mahmoud, MD, Ph.D., 2001 - 2006
Merck Vaccines
Merck & Co., Inc.

Matthew McHugh, J.D., 2000 - 2006
Former Counselor to the President of The World Bank
Former Member of the US Congress

Juan Francisco Polo, 2001 - 2006
Chief Operating Officer & General Manager
J. A. Llorente & O. Cuenca (Madrid)

Antonia Novello, MD, Ph.D., 2001 - 2006
Commissioner of Health
New York State Department of Health

Ms. Elizabeth A. Tyson, 2003 - 2006
Vice President, Government Affairs, International

Patricia Schroeder, J.D., 2002 - 2005
President & CEO, Association of American Publishers
Former Member of US Congress

Dr. Enrique J. Guardia, 1998 - 2004
Former Vice President Technology, General Foods

Dr. Ilona Kickbusch, 2003

Dr. Mirta Roses Periago, Ex-officio member, 2000 - 2003
Assistant Director, PAHO

Ms. Sandra de Castro Buffington, 1997 - 2001
Virtual Campus for Public Health

Dr. William Bertrand, 1998 - 2002
Director, Payson Center for International Development
Tulane University

Dr. Margaret Marshall, 1996 - 2002
Senior Technical Advisor, Reproductive Health
Centre for Development and Population Activities (CEDPA)

Dr. William Hubbard, 1995 - 2001

Dr. Ruth Insel, 1995 - 2001
Foundation for International Medical Services

Dr. Nancy Moss, 1995 - 2001
Program Officer, Ctr for Research on Mothers & Children
National Institute of Child Health & Human Development

Dr. Patrice Engle, 1997 - 2000
Chief, Early Childhood Development

Dr. Abraham Horwitz, 1975 - 2000
Retired PAHO Director

Dr. George Alleyne, Ex-officio member, 1990s
Director, PAHO

Dr. Timothy Baker, 1980s - 1990s
Professor, International Health - Division of Health Systems
Johns Hopkins Bloomberg School of Public Health

Dr. Gretchen Berggren, 1990s
Lecturer in Population Sciences and International Health
Harvard School of Public Health

Dr. Claire Broome, 1990s
Director of International Health Information Systems
US Centers for Disease Control

Dr. Alan Hinman, 1980s - 1990s
Senior Consultant for Public Health
All Kids Count

Dr. Luis Carlos Ochoa, Ex-officio member, 1980s - 1990s
Assistant Director, PAHO

Dr. Barry Popkin, 1990s
Professor, Dept. of Nutrition, Carolina Population Center
University of North Carolina

Dr. Susan Scrimshaw, 1980s - 1990s
University of Illinois at Chicago School of Public Health

Dr. Joyce E. Beebe Thompson, 1980s - 1990s
Lacey Professor of Community Health Nursing
Western Michigan University

Dr. Myron Wegman, 1970s - 1990s
Dean Emeritus, Univ of Michigan School of Public Health
Former Secretary-General, PAHO

Dr. John Cutler, 1978 - 1990

Dr. Abraham Drobny, 1978 - 1990

Prof. Abel Wolman
Chair and Founder, Dept. of Sanitary Engineering
Johns Hopkins University

Dr. Ruth Watson Lubic, 1983 - 1990
Founder and President Emeritus
DC Developing Families Center

Dr. Nevin Scrimshaw, 1980s - 1990
International Nutrition Foundation

A Sample of Recent PAHEF Projects in the Region