Our Work

Leadership in Inter-American Health - Winners

» Award Overview
» Biography
» Past Winners


Past Winners

2012 Dr. Paulo Marchiori Buss Brazil
2011 Dr. Peter Jay Hotez United States
2010 Dr. Carlos Monteiro, University of São Paulo Brazil
2009 Dr. Eduardo A. Pretell Zarate Peru
2008 Dr. Cesar Victora Brazil
2007 Dr. Maria Cristina Escobar Chile
2006 Dr. James H. Steele United States
2005 Dr. Ricardo Uauy Chile
2004 Dr. Eduardo Salazar-Lindo Peru
2003 Dr. Martin Eichelberger United States
2002 Dr. Leonard Duhl United States
2001 Dr. Ruy Laurenti Brazil
2000 Dr. Abraam Sonis Argentina
1999 Dr. Rodrigo Fierro Benítez Ecuador
1998 Drs. Carlos and Elisa Ponce Honduras
1997 Dr. Gabriel Velázquez Palau Colombia
1996 Dr. José Renán Esquivel Panama
1995 Dr. Jorge Mardones Restat Chile
1994 Eng. Humberto Romero Alvarez Mexico
1993 Dr. Plutarco Naranjo Ecuador
1992 Dr. Elsa Segura Argentina
1991 Dr. Guillermo Soberón Mexico
1990 Dr. Ricardo Bressani Guatemala
1989 Dr. Jacinto Convit Venezuela
1988 Sir Kenneth L. Standard Jamaica
1987 Dr. Mario Cháves Brazil
1986 Dr. Boris Szyfres Uruguay
1985 Drs. Ruth and Victor Nussenzweig Brazil
1984 Dr. Roberto Caldeyro-Barcia Uruguay
1983 Dr. Martin Cummings United States
1982 Dr. Inés Durana Colombia
1981 Dr. Luis Wannoni L. Venezuela
1980 Dr. Hernando Groot Colombia
1979 Dr. Fernando Monckeberg Chile
1978 Dr. Ruth Puffer United States
  • Related Success Stories
    Training Physicians in Geriatrics
    PAHEF, in partnership with PAHO/WHO and a grant from the Merck Institute on Aging and Health, has provided support for a growing network of universiti...
    Read more »
A Sample of Recent PAHEF Projects in the Region